Don’t Worry Kids!! I’m coming!

Laurel’s audience

I glanced at my site today and two pages of it are about pants. I don’t have anything against pants, per se, but they had taken over my life, my website, my living room, my car, my brain. I was awake at night crunching pant numbers. Thankfully I was invited by a new friend, an artist, to see his work. I don’t know what happened to me, but both the artist and his work went right through me, like a lightening rod, and my head started to clear and snapped me out of my pants obsession. Now I am not saying that I am not going to make pants. I’ll make plenty of pants, don’t worry, but I am not going to make pants when I feel I should be entertaining people. I am not going to think twice about it or question it, or rationalize it or talk myself out of it for the sake of appearing sane to my fellows. I shudder to think what would happen to my audiences, small as they are, if I became a rag merchant. What I’ll do is, — I’ll wear the pants when I am performing and auction them off to the highest bidder. Because I had money in mind when I was sewing the pants, and when I have money on my mind I am always diverted from my destiny. My destiny, it seems, doesnt have anything to do with financial success or fame or security or a loving man. No, damn it, but that’s the way it is and this gifted man (trwalsh.com) helped me sweep the rags aside and gave me courage to get out there again. Don’t worry Kids, I’m coming!!

Leave a Reply

